All American Plaid

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

My goal for this blog is to create content that everyone can relate to, and honestly what could be more relatable than plaid. One could almost define it as the quintessential all-American shirt. And no matter how much the fashion industry may want to put this trend to death or change it in some way I can firmly assure you It will not be going anywhere anytime soon . . . like the old saying goes you can’t mess with a classic. Girl or guy, west coast to the northeast, from night to daytime, it doesn’t matter. I think everyone can agree that when the leaves start to turn yellow or the sun starts to go down before 5, we all like to pull out our favorite heavy plaid flannel.

While my button down plaid shirt collection is a little obsessive . . . like everyone else, there is one I will always go back to (depending on the season of course . . . yes plaid is seasonal trust me). My favorite for the cold months this year happens to be one I got from Urban Outfitters this season (on sale of course). This classic red and white plaid shirt is actually made by Sonoma and is really awesome because falls under sustainable fashion. It is made from other older articles of clothing and repurposed–its vintage while still being completely new! So essentially, this flannel is your dad or grandfathers without having to steal theirs . . . trust me they will thank you later.

I styled this look for a cold winter’s Connecticut day and kept it casual as we were visiting my boyfriend’s family for the weekend. My favorite thing to do with any button down shirt, in general, is a half-tucked in half-out style, one of my recent favorite trends from the last year. I feel like it gives it more of an undone edgy look for an article of clothing that is supposed make you feel put together. With a good pair of light wash boyfriend jeans, this look was able to take me from morning coffee to a yummy take out dinner with the whole family. And can’t forget the beanie (courtesy of my roommate) it kept me feeling toasty and fun with the pom-pom on top. I finished off this outfit with my favorite pair of suede winter heeled booties (Kenneth Cole) and conquered the day.

img_4708Processed with VSCO with m3 presetimg_4707Processed with VSCO with t1 presetProcessed with VSCO with m3 presetThe big debate though is how do you style your plaid? Stick with the classic and go with denim or maybe swing it over a dress or double it as a belt? How do you feel about the half-tucked in half-out style?

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. LOVE YOUR SETTING CHOICE—AND OUTFIT!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

